The Value of Each Penny The twelve
pennies which form the outer hexagon of the
set (see below) are worth one point each. The
six pennies which form the inner hexagon are
worth two points each. The centre penny is
worth six points.

Scoring When a player wins a penny,
either by merit or by his opponent's mistake,
he adds on its points value to his total score.
The nineteen scoring pennies add up to a total
of thirty so the first player to win sixteen
points or more wins the game. When both
players win fifteen points each the game is a
draw.

Allowed Colours Shooter — white.
Centre penny — black.
Other pennies —Red,
yellow, green, blue.
The inner hexagon must
contain three sets of
differently coloured
pennies: for example,
two red, two green, and two blue. The
twelve outer hexagon pennies are a colour
that has not already been used. The
photograph above shows a 'yellow set' of
pennies. Yellow sets are the most common.

The Set

On a hexagonal board - the traditional
shape - the shooter is placed so that it covers
one of the board's corner spots. On a square
board - more usually used for Penny Blue -
the shooter is placed so that it covers a
straight edge spot. The black is placed over
the centre dot. The other eighteen scoring
pennies are placed as shown in the
photograph so that a corner of the formed
hexagon points directly towards the shooter.

Like colours in the inner hexagon must be
placed opposite each other.

Flicking The shooter is
the only penny which
can be touched. It must
be flicked cleanly with
the nail of one finger.
The palm of the hand
should NOT move and
the shooter must NOT be
nudged forward before
being flicked. Some
players use a thumb to
provide tension for the flicking finger. Other
players use the board to provide tension for
the flicking finger.

Winning Pennies By Merit The order in
which pennies can be won by merit is simple.
First, all the pennies in the outer hexagon and
lastly the black. The other pennies must be
knocked off in the order of the colours of the
rainbow - red, yellow, green, blue.

If you flick the shooter so that it knocks
off the board one penny only and stays on the
board itself then you win the removed penny
and go again, playing the shooter from where
it came to rest.

As long as you keep winning a penny you
can keep having another turn. The shooter
does NOT have to hit the colour penny that is
to be won next. For example, let's say you
want to win the last green but the black is in
the way between the green and the shooter.
You can make the shooter hit the black on to
the green. If the green is knocked off the
board and all the other pennies stay on then
you will have won the green. This is called a
cannon.

The Change Over If you do not win a
penny from a flick then you lose your turn
and your opponent takes over, playing the
shooter from where you left it.

However, if the shooter came off the
board at the end of your turn then your
opponent must start with the shooter
completely covering one of the board's
corner spots. (There are six corner spots on a
hexagonal/ circular board, and four corner
spots on a square hoard)

Winning Pennies Due To Your
Opponent’s Mistakes If your opponent

knocks off the board one or more pennies that
he can't keep, then you win them.

Example 1. Your opponent flicks the
shooter. It knocks off the board the right
colour but comes off itself. Your opponent
loses his turn and you win the penny he
knocked off.

Example 2. Your opponent has to win a
red next but by accident knocks off a yellow
instead. Again your opponent loses his turn
and you win the yellow.

Example 3. Your opponent flicks the
shooter and it knocks off more than one
penny. You win all the pennies he knocked
off in that flick, and he loses his turn.

Complete Misses If you flick the shooter
so that it misses all the pennies on the board
then you lose your go and your opponent is
awarded a FREE SHOT.

If the shooter remained on the board at the
end of your turn then the free shot must be
taken from where it had come to rest.

If the shooter came off at the end of your
turn then the free shot must be taken from
one of the board's corner spots

The Free Shot From a free shot it is not
necessary to win or even hit a penny in order
to keep your turn. Apart from these two
exceptions the free shot must be treated like
any other.

Example 1. From your free shot the
shooter knocks off the board the right colour
but then comes off itself. You lose your turn
and your opponent wins the removed penny.

Example 2. From your free shot the
shooter knocks off a wrong colour, or
colours. You lose your turn and your
opponent wins the removed penny, or
pennies.

Even the Penny Diameter Rule applies to
free shots. A free shot can't be saved for later.
Take it straight away or lose it.

The Penny Diameter Rule Imagine your
opponent has just lost his turn and has left the
shooter within a penny diameter of one or
more pennies. If you come to the board and
shoot, and win a penny, then carry on as
normal. But, if you don't and leave the
shooter still within a penny diameter of ANY
of those same pennies then your opponent is
awarded a free shot.
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Example. The shooter hits the yellow.
Afterwards it is still within a penny diameter
of the red. If the yellow isn’t won then it’s a
foul.

Fouls If a player touches any other
penny on the board apart from the shooter, or
does not flick the shooter cleanly, or moves
the board so that any penny slides then he
loses his turn and a free shot is awarded to his
opponent.

If a player flicks the shooter and the result
is that another penny comes to rest either
wholly or partially on top of the shooter then
he has committed a foul. His opponent wins
the penny that is on top of the shooter; he
removes it and takes the first flick of his new
turn. A free shot is not awarded.

If a player flicks the shooter so that it
comes to rest either wholly or partially on top
of one or more pennies then he has
committed a foul. His opponent is allowed to
place the shooter on one of the board’s
corner spots before beginning his turn. A
free shot is not awarded.

Push Shots When you flick the shooter at
a penny, which is near to it, then at the instant
that the shooter hits the penny your finger
may STILL BE IN CONTACT with the
shooter. If that is so then the flick is called a
PUSH SHOT.
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Example. It is impossible for the shooter
to hit the blue without being pushed through
the red — a push shot.

If the shooter then strikes any other penny
then the push shot is a FOUL. In the example
above, if the shooter hit the blue then it
would be a foul.

If the shooter does NOT strike another
penny then the push shot is legal. It is NOT a
foul.



