
Penny Green Rules 

Rule Breaks and Fouls Who made 

them 

A A D 

N P P 

Illegal push shot PF PF PF 

Illegal flick technique PF PF PF 

Pennies / green moved as 

board turned 

PF PF PF 

Foul on defender PF PF  

Foul on attacker   PF 

Green or opponent’s 

penny moved 

 PF PF 

Flicks same penny twice 

at start of a goal flick or 

flick off 

PF   

Green doesn’t leave goal 

area after the first flick of 

a goal flick 

PF   

Green into out zone via 

side line or attacker’s goal 

line 

PF   

Three zone hit PF   

Attacker off board S S R 

Defender off board R R S 

Two or more attackers in 

a goal area 

S1 S1 R1 

Two or more defenders in 

a goal area 

R1 R1 S1 

Penny Diameter rule 

broken 

SR SR SR 

 

Key  

A Attacker 

D Defender 

N Normal flick 

P Positional flick 

PF Penalty flick 

S Spotted 

R Repositioned 

S1 Spotted until only 1 remains in 

R1 Repositioned until only 1 remains in 

SR Spot opponent’s, reposition own 

 

 Rule Breaks and Penalties 

 If you break a rule then you 

immediately lose your turn and your opponent 

carries out the penalty against you. There are 

only three penalties: penalty flick (PF), 

repositioning (R) and spotting (S). So 

depending on the rule you break your 

opponent will either: take a penalty flick, 

reposition one or more of his pennies, or spot 

one or more of your pennies. 

 In addition, if from your flick, you 

break two or more rules, then your opponent 

can make the two or more penalties that he is 

allowed, and in an order that is to his 

advantage. 

 

 Spotting and Repositioning 

 For some rule breaks that you make, 

your opponent will spot one or more of your 

pennies. He simply picks up the offending 

pennies and places them on any free spot 

behind his own goal line. One penny is 

allowed on each spot. 

 For some rule breaks that you make, 

your opponent will reposition one or more of 

his own pennies. He simply picks up the 

offended pennies and repositions them to a 

place of his advantage. A penny that is 

repositioned outside a goal area must be 

nearer to a side line or a zone line than a goal 

area line, and can be either in the play zone or 

the out zone. It must not be placed within a 

penny diameter of the green or any other 

penny. 

 A penny cannot be repositioned to 

where it would be breaking another rule and 

so cannot be repositioned into a goal area if 

you already have one there. 

 

  

 



Penalty Flick 

 A penalty flick is a single flick. The 

defender places one penny on his goal line 

between the goal pegs.  

 Standard Play (The first photo below) 

The attacker places the green so that it touches 

the penalty line nearest his opponent's goal. 

He chooses, picks up and places the penny 

with which he will take the penalty, so that it 

touches the other penalty line. See Penny 

Green Overview/ Animation 

 Advanced Play (The second photo 

below) The attacker places the green in his 

shooting zone, as close as possible to the 

penalty line without actually touching the line. 

He chooses, picks up, and places the penny 

with which he will take the penalty, in his 

opponent's shooting zone, as close as possible 

to the other penalty line, but without actually 

touching the line. 

 

 
 

 
 

 The attacker flicks his chosen penny 

into the green in an attempt to score a goal. 

After the penalty flick the attacker 

immediately loses his turn and is not allowed 

a positional flick. That holds true even if the 

green remains in play. 

 When you are awarded a penalty flick, 

you have the option of declining it, and 

instead, taking immediate possession of the 

green and going for goal in open play. This is 

called the advantage rule. 

 

 Positional and Normal Flicks 

 If at the end of your turn you have not 

broken any rules then, depending on the 

circumstances, you can flick one, or two, 

pennies into a position of advantage. These 

are called positional flicks.  

 Although a positionally flicked penny 

is allowed to hit another of your pennies, it is 

not allowed to touch the green, and must not 

result in the green or any of your opponent's 

pennies being moved. If you break this rule 

then your opponent is awarded a penalty flick. 

 Any flick which is not a positional flick 

is called a normal flick. 

 

 Flicking Basics 

 You can flick only your own pennies - 

not the green - and must do so cleanly with the 

nail side of a finger or thumb. No nudging or 

double hitting is allowed and your hand must 

not move. If you break this rule your opponent 

is awarded a penalty flick. 

 You must flick so that the green does 

not go into the out zone or or off the board via 

the side lines or your own goal line. If you 

break this rule then your opponent is awarded 

a penalty flick. 

 You must flick so that no pennies go 

off the board. If you break this rule then you 

lose your turn immediately and have no 

positional flick. Your opponent can spot any 

of your pennies that you knocked off the 

board, and can reposition any of his own 

pennies that you knocked off the board. 

 

 The Push Shot 

 When you flick one penny at another 

which is near to it (including the green), then 

at the instant the penny hits the other your 

finger (or thumb) may still be in contact with 

the penny. If that is so then the flick is called a 

push shot.  

 If the flicked penny then strikes any 

other then the push shot is illegal and your 

opponent is awarded a penalty flick. If the 

penny you flicked does not strike another then 

the push shot is legal.  

 In the diagram below it is impossible 

for the blue to hit the white (or green!) without 

being pushed through the red - a push shot. If 

you do push through the red then if the blue 



hits the white or any other penny it would be a 

foul. 

 

 
 

 Goals 

 The first player to score an agreed 

number of goals wins the game.  

To score a goal you must hit the green from 

within your shooting zone so that it travels 

between the goal pegs and completely crosses 

the goal line. You cannot score a goal if with 

the same flick you break a rule. After scoring 

a goal you lose your turn immediately and 

have no positional flick. 

 

 Interceptions 

 If, from your normal, attacking flick, 

the green collides with one of your opponent's 

pennies, then as soon as the green stops 

moving, you lose your turn and have no 

positional flick. The green is said to have been 

intercepted. Even if the green bounces off one 

of your opponent's pennies and back on to one 

of your own you still lose your turn and have 

no positional flick. 

 Because the interception comes into 

effect only after the green stops moving the 

attacker is responsible for what happens to the 

green as it continues to move after the 

collision. Therefore: 

 If the green stops after going into the 

defender's goal, it is a goal to the attacker. If 

the green stops after going over the side line, 

it is a penalty flick to the defender. If the 

green stops after going over the defender's 

goal line, but not through the goal pegs, the 

defender restarts with a goal flick. 

 In the unlikely event of the green going 

into the attacker's goal, it is a goal to the 

defender. In the unlikely event of the green 

going over the attacker's goal line, but not 

through the goal pegs, it is a penalty flick to 

the defender. 

 

  

 

Three Hit Turn and Foul on Opponent 

 If you flick a penny that results in 

either the green or another of your pennies 

being moved then it's called a hit. If you make 

a hit which moves an opponent's penny, don't 

worry, you have not broken any rule. E.g. You 

flick your penny straight into a penny of your 

opponent. Your opponent's penny then hits 

and moves one of yours. You have made a hit. 

 If you flick a penny that does not result 

in either the green or another of your pennies 

being moved then it's called a miss. If you 

make a miss but the penny you flicked 

collides with an opponent's penny it's called a 

foul, and that's a rule break for which your 

opponent is awarded a penalty flick. (You 

may to re-read the above several times so that 

you understand it well.) 

 If you make a hit, without an 

interception then you can try to make another 

hit. 

 You are allowed a maximum of three 

hits per turn. Whether you make one, two, or 

three hits, if you have not broken any rules 

then you are allowed one positional flick to 

complete your turn. After your completed turn 

your opponent begins his turn and so on. 

 

 Three Zone Hit 

 If the green or a penny is touching a 

zone line then they are in the centre zone. If 

the green is touching a goal area line then it is 

in that goal area. The green is out of play 

when all of it has crossed over the whole of 

the perimeter lines and is either in the out zone 

or off the board.  

 Except for a penalty flick you must not 

hit the green so that it travels from one zone, 

through another zone, and then into another 

zone. (See Penny Green Overview Animation) 

This is called a three-zone hit. Even if, on its 

journey, the green is deflected by another of 

your pennies, or intercepted by one of your 

opponent's, it's still a three-zone hit.  



 If you break this rule your opponent is 

awarded a penalty flick. 

 

  

The Penny Diameter Rule 

 At the end of your attacking turn, 

which includes your positional flick if you 

have one, you should not have left any 

pennies, be they yours or your opponents, 

nearer to the green than a penny diameter. 

When defending and making positional flicks 

the same rule applies. 

 If you break this rule your opponent 

can spot your pennies which are within a 

penny diameter of the green; and, can 

reposition his own pennies which are within a 

penny diameter of the green (SR). 

 

 Goal Areas and the Two In Rule 

 Do not make a flick that results in two 

or more pennies of the same team being at rest 

in the same goal area. If you break this rule 

your opponent can spot your offending 

pennies until only one remain in (S1); and, can 

reposition his own offended pennies until only 

one remains in (R1). 

 When it's your turn, if the green is in 

your goal area then you can choose and place 

one of your pennies to flick at the green. (It is 

common for players, when facing a difficult 

situation near their own goal area, to play the 

green in to their own goal areas in order to 

take advantage of this rule.) 

 

 The Flick Off 

 The game starts with a flick off. 

Assume you've won the toss and are about to 

start the game. 

 First, you place the green on to the 

centre spot and all your pennies in your 

opponent's shooting zone. You can place only 

one penny in your goal area, and the pennies 

you place outside your goal area must be 

nearer to a side line or zone line than a goal 

area line, and not within a penny diameter of 

any other penny. 

 Next, your opponent places all his 

pennies in your shooting zone. He can place 

only one penny in his goal area, and the 

pennies he places outside his goal area must 

be nearer to a side line or zone line than a goal 

area line, and not within a penny diameter of 

any other penny.  

 Now you take the first flick of the 

game. It is the start of a potential three hit turn 

complete with positional flick, or maybe, even 

a goal. The penny with which you make the 

first hit can't be used to make the second hit. If 

you break this rule then you lose your turn 

immediately and your opponent is awarded a 

penalty flick. 

 

  

 A Goal Flick 

 After your opponent has scored a goal 

or put the green over your goal line you restart 

the game with a goal flick.  

 You place behind your goal line the 

green and the penny with which you intend to 

take the goal flick. Alternatively, you can 

remove them from the board. 

 Next you place two other pennies into 

positions of advantage. These pennies must be 

placed nearer to a side line or zone line than a 

goal area line, and not within a penny 

diameter of any other penny. 

 Then your opponent makes two 

positional flicks. A penny moved by a 

positional flick can come to rest nearer to a 

goal line than a side line or zone line. 

 Next, you place the green and the 

penny you have chosen to take the goal flick 

where you want inside your goal area and 

make your goal flick. It is the start of a 

potential three hit turn plus positional flick, or 

maybe, even a goal.  

 The penny with which you make the 

first hit can't be used to make the second hit. If 

you break this rule then your opponent is 

awarded a penalty flick. 

 With the first hit the green must go 

outside the goal area. If you break this rule 

then your opponent is awarded a penalty flick. 



 

  

 

Two More Fouls 

 If you touch any penny or the green 

when not allowed, even accidentally, then 

your opponent is awarded a penalty flick. 

 If you move the board, even 

accidentally, and any penny or the green slide 

across the surface of the board then your 

opponent is awarded a penalty flick. 


